Home » Why Am I Doing This? » Day 2: So, Why AM I Doing This?

Day 2: So, Why AM I Doing This?

MM_banner-small

I define social media as what results when people create, share, and exchange information and ideas in virtual communities, networks and media venues of various sorts. These methods of social interaction take many forms, including print media such as magazines and newspapers, and their letters to the editor sections, but are more commonly found in the online world.

There is so much out there, from communities and blogs, to video, podcasting and photography, to email, instant messaging and twitter. Those are just what I know of and think of as “social media”. They are all ways for participants to creatively express themselves, meet and associate with like-minded people, share news, views and ideas, and so much more.

I am a writer who participates in various social media outlets, in ways both large and small. I’ve learned plenty in a decade of blogging, and 14 years online, but there are still some things I know how to do better than others and some things I have never tried before.

When I moved to Houston, last Sept., my old Dell desktop didn’t survive the trip and I was persuaded to get a laptop as a replacement. So, now, my new friend and I are getting acquainted. Getting a laptop means I have taken a step to learn how to use one of the more popular tools for engaging in writing and in social media activities without being tied down at home all the time.

I wish to share my experiences, observations and thoughts about social media, what’s interesting, what’s confusing, things that I know how to do and things I do not. I hope to develop an ongoing conversation with visitors to this blog who comment and share my posts and with members of the related Facebook group, learn new things, and meet new people.

I hope to give visitors something to think about, nourishing ideas for your creative soul to put to use when you return to your little corner of the blogosphere.

Websites referred to in this post:

Social Media for Critter Bloggers Facebook Group

http://www.facebook.com/groups/SocialMediaForCritterBloggers/

 

5 thoughts on “Day 2: So, Why AM I Doing This?

  1. “Nourishing ideas for your creative soul” – wow! The writing is positively beautiful, Kiril. A fantastic start to a promising blog! I am confident that you’ll have more than enough material to blog about here. So far so good, great job!

  2. Kiril,

    I have not been blogging as long as you. However, I have been reading blogs and leaving comments since the days of “just” BBS (showing my age a little bit there…sigh)

    I am a stay-at-home dad of a 4 year-old son. He is growing up in a brave new world compared to the one I grew up in. The word “instantaneous” has new meaning to his generation.

    I actually had to get on my bike and go find friends. I never had the option of turning on the computer and discovering “groups” of friends. It is the primary reason I try to learn anything and everything about technology (besides I actually do like it to). I do not want my son to think he will be able to do things and not get caught.

    Social media is as powerful a mystery to me today as it was when I got my twitter account, Google +, linked in etc. I have them because I need them in blogging. I have them to stay up with technology. Somehow, I always wonder how disconnected it makes us while it brings us closer together. It is a Catch-22.

    Aaron Brinker aka DadBlunders

    • Thank you Aaron for the great comment. The world has changed a lot in the last 20 years. Before 1998 I never seriously considered having a computer simply because of the cost and my lack of knowledge. even after I got my first computer doing more than the basics was an intimidating thing. I’ve come a long way since then.

  3. Pingback: Day 47: What Do I Hope to Gain by Using Social Media Every Day? | SMFCB: A 365 Day Project

Toss in your 2 cents! I'd Love to hear from you!

