Home » Facebook and You » Day 12: Facebook and I – Reasonably Good Friends Since 2008

Day 12: Facebook and I – Reasonably Good Friends Since 2008

Just why did I join Facebook in 2008?

Facebook says its mission is “to give people the power to share and make the world more open and connected.”

I wanted to connect with friends in blogging, and make new connections. I wanted to share my writing with a wider audience, hoping to attract more readers to my blogs. I wanted to share other interests, my photography, and interesting happenings in my everyday life.

I wanted to find other sources of the daily news of the day and enjoy humorous postings, thoughtful sayings, and more.

I didn’t give a crap about games, or Farmville, and other such nonsense. It didn’t take too long before I realized that games and apps of all sorts were time wasters. One could just as easily get glued to their computer screen on Facebook, as they could get glued to the TV set all day long.

I found adding photos a fun and easy thing to do. Commenting and replying in my statuses and those of others when entries of interest appeared was fun and often informative. Learning of events I might want to attend where I lived was useful, and wishing friends a “Bappy Hirthday” made their days.

In 2010 I made my first attempt at a Facebook Page related to my blogs, but had no clue how best to use it so retired it. I even gave my cat, Nikita, his own account but eventually gave up on it as a time waster.

During all this time I saw how others were using their own pages to promote business, blogs and writing careers. In the past year I began to consider the idea of opening a new Facebook Page devoted to me as a writer, one element of turning my various social media accounts into platforms to help promote my creativity.

This year I have not only taken the plunge and made a page, but even opened a group on Facebook.

Where all this will lead me I am on a journey to find out.

Toss in your 2 cents! I'd Love to hear from you!

