Home » Facebook and You » Day 13: Facebook and I – Pages and Groups, Oh My!

Day 13: Facebook and I – Pages and Groups, Oh My!

Setting up a regular Facebook account for me, all those years ago, was simple enough. The “about me” page gave me an opportunity to share my work history, educational background, where I have lived and currently live, when I was hatched, if I’m attached or unattached, and just what in the tarnation I am attracted to within my own species, not to mention religious and political views.

A special “about you” section allowed me to spend a few paragraph talking about myself, who I am, what my interests are and anything else I chose.

Until the last couple of months I was happy with most of what I had shared and how I shared it. As I’ve begun to focus more on my interest in pursuing a writing career I developed an updated version of the “about you” and chose to list my current occupation as “blogger and freelance writer – 2002 – Present” with the following description:

I am a creative writer and blogger with 10 years of experience in storytelling, poetry, reporting, and photography. I have created more than 4500 blog posts of original content for four blogs on the themes of creative writing, hobbies, culture and society, personal journey, and enlightenment, adventures in bicycling, and unique “cat opinions and thoughts”… The hallmark of my writing is my wit and peculiar sense of humor.

Status updates, photo sharing, commenting on the status updates of others, finding friends, and pages to follow and a few groups to join, were easy things to master.

Setting up a page for me as a “writer” was a bit more of a challenge. I had to choose the right category, and type of page and, in the “basic info” section of the “about” page I had to describe personal information and interests in a way appropriate for what I wanted to accomplish with the page itself.

Writing a biography that was at once personal and also descriptive of whom I am, and hope to become, as a writer took a little thinking, but I am satisfied with the result.

Building an audience, especially one with people who might toss in their 2 cents from time to time, takes a bit of work. There is no guarantee that your email contacts and FB friends will have the time and interest to follow you, which means you have to learn how to attract others.

I like how you can see when new people like and follow you, and how you can allow people to contribute posts and you can moderate the discussions and contributions.

Once you reach a certain number of likes all sorts of traffic related statistics become available for your edification and amusement.

I am still feeling my way around learning how best to put my page to use and engage readers in to contributing to the general discussion.

Groups are a whole ‘nuther ball of wax. More complicated more challenging and time consuming for the person, or persons who set one up. Choosing the category and explaining, in a basic way, what the group is about is simple enough, but then comes the more challenging things that need to be done.

Creating a file for any number of reasons is easy enough to do; I created one for a mission statement for the group related to this blog.
For a person who has never moderated a group before, such as me, there is the challenge of being more moderator and presenter of questions for the group to discuss, than doing a lot of regular commenting.

Just as with a page building a membership, especially one with people who might toss in their 2 cents from time to time, takes a bit of work. There is no guarantee that your email contacts and FB friends will have the time and interest to join, which means you have to learn how to attract others.

Another thing to consider is whether you want an open or closed group. Closed means that, other than the membership roster and group description, non-members have no further access to what’s going.

As you can see involvement in social media can be done in a variety of ways and that’s just on one website.

4 thoughts on “Day 13: Facebook and I – Pages and Groups, Oh My!

Toss in your 2 cents! I'd Love to hear from you!

