Home » Social Media » Conferences » Day 15: Social Media Conferences Occur Everywhere – I’m Attending One in May

Day 15: Social Media Conferences Occur Everywhere – I’m Attending One in May

P3JCP_Feb2013aFrom the simple to the complex social media conferences/conventions are occurring every month all over the world. The subjects of the conferences are as varied as the people who attend them, and new ones debut all the time.

Out of curiosity I did a Google search for social media conferences in Texas and came up with plenty going back several years. One such event, this past week in Austin, was SXSW Interactive. It had a long and varied list of events and panels, but one thing caught my attention; a slideshow shared online.

It is a 35 slide discussion of this question: Is social media making us sick? To say yes or no, here, would spoil the fun of your exploring the slideshow on your own, so let’s just say it is very interesting reading.

The conference program = http://austin2013.lanyrd.com/

The slideshow = http://lanyrd.com/2013/sxsw-interactive/scdhbm/#link-qkcb

I found a website promoting a twice a year conference called Social Media Week. It describes itself as follows:

A worldwide event exploring the social, cultural and economic impact of social media. Our mission is to help people and organizations connect through collaboration, learning and the sharing of ideas and information. In just under five years, Social Media Week has become a platform and a community that has grown to more than 100k members in 26 cities around the world.

http://socialmediaweek.org/

Before I move on to discuss the event I’m attending in May let me discuss conventions of a different sort, but related none the less.

Kelsey Belgrave, of the Tarrytown-Sleepy Hollow Patch, amusingly discusses 5 “social media conventions that, while seemingly negligent, can have a huge impact on the effectiveness of your social media channels in the long-run”, especially for businesses.

A few of these can apply to ordinary bloggers as well.

http://tarrytown.patch.com/blog_posts/5-social-media-conventions-that-are-completely-wrong-4a2cd146

So, what am I doing in May?

I am a cat blogger, among my other writing interests:

Meowsings of an Opinionated Pussycat = http://www.opinionatedpussycat.com

I'm going to BlogPaws 2013 badge

Thanks to the generosity and kindness of a sponsor, who wishes to remain anonymous (“Kiril, I just think you need to go.”), I am looking forward to attending the annual Blog Paws Social Media Conference, May 16th thru 18th, in Tysons Corner VA. It will be my very first time.   The Blog Paws website (http://www.blogpaws.com) dedicates itself to teaching pet enthusiasts how to use social media effectively, and so much more besides.   The annual conference, since 2010, has been THE social networking event of the year for critter bloggers. (http://blogpawsconference.com/)

Attending this conference is ideal for me because it will help me take my blogging from hobbyist to a professional level. I will benefit from the networking, learning, and marketing opportunities.

Just a few of the topics speakers will be discussing are:  

Foundations of Reporting for Pet Bloggers.

WordPress for beginners and converts.

Optimizing blogs to attract more readers via search engines.

Standing out in the pet blogging niche.

Connecting with and attracting, readers via social media.

One of the things I want to take away from attending this event, as a writer, is enough knowledge, experiences, and material to write an e-book, my first such publishing effort.   It is also an opportunity for me to not just learn new skills that will make me a better writer, and make interesting, useful connections, but to at last meet some of the many fellow pet writers I have called friends for years.

4 thoughts on “Day 15: Social Media Conferences Occur Everywhere – I’m Attending One in May

Toss in your 2 cents! I'd Love to hear from you!

