Home » Uncategorized » Day 45: MS Word is My Friend

Day 45: MS Word is My Friend

I have written and blogged since 2002, yet it never occurred to me until a few months ago, when a friend suggested it, that MS Word could do wonders for my grammar and punctuation.

Up until fall 2010 I only had MS Word 2003 on my computer and rarely used it; then I took a series of computer classes to learn 2007, and my eyes were opened up, slowly, to new possibilities. Then a broken ankle and other distractions came along and plans to put into practice what I’d learned went out the window for a year.

It has taken focus, concentration and determination to get into the habit of writing my blog posts first in MS Word. Old habits die hard, very hard.

The main reason to write the words of your post in Word is for the spell and grammar check that you can do once you finish. Even better, if you choose, you can then copy and paste your piece into the free spell and grammar check at Grammarly’s checkyourtext site.

As it explains:

“The site quickly performs a wide range of checks. It completes everything from a basic spell check to more in-depth context and grammar checks. Our checker is even able to pick up on context-based language issues that expensive word processors, such as MS word, are unable to find. Missing punctuation, passive voice, tense confusion, and overly complex expressions are all identified, along with many other common day-to-day writing problems.”

Re-read that, then, after you do a spell/grammar check on MS Word and are as happy as a pig in slop….run the same prospective post by this thing.

Make sure you are sitting down because the results might just surprise you.

The pay version, on Grammarly, does even more for those who REALLY want to have their head handed to them on a platter

What I like, very much, is the “passive voice, tense confusion, and overly complex expressions are all identified, along with many other common day-to-day writing problems” part.

This forces you to re-think and often re-write, to the betterment of your piece.

Once completed to my satisfaction I copy and paste into Notepad, then copy and paste into my blog editor and do all that I normally do to prepare my post to go live.

Give it a shot; you have nothing to lose and a lot to gain.

Toss in your 2 cents! I'd Love to hear from you!

