Home » Social Media » Engagement » Day 47: What Do I Hope to Gain by Using Social Media Every Day?

Day 47: What Do I Hope to Gain by Using Social Media Every Day?

Reaching out through social media

Reaching out through social media

In the second post on this blog I defined the term “social media” and what I hoped to do with this daily project.

https://smfcba365dayproject.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/day-2-so-why-am-i-doing-this-3/

So, what do I hope to gain by using social media every day?   From blogs, business cards, and simple neighborhood chalkboard to community bulletin boards in restaurants, pet stores, bookstores and libraries, and social media web tools from Amazon to Yelp, I believe I can attract an audience, build a platform, make friends and connections.

I believe I can learn new skills to improve my creativity and writing and find opportunities for speaking engagements such as the open mics and presentations I have done in the past, and to attend more events such as the upcoming Blog Paws.

I believe I can find opportunities to freelance, guest post, submit poetry and stories for publication, and eventually even learn how to publish my writing in any book format that will take me, from chapbooks and eBooks, to traditional printed books.

I believe that my experiences could help me find a job after 2 ½ years unemployment.

As Joel Osteen encourages in his new book, I Declare, wake up each morning, think about what you want to accomplish, encourage yourself, use your energy to believe in yourself, and you can do many things you never thought you could.

I have done a lot over the last 14 years and believe I can do more.

What do YOU hope to gain by using social media? Share your thoughts in the comments.

Toss in your 2 cents! I'd Love to hear from you!